PDA

View Full Version : Californians for Obama - scam by a Republican


ViolaLee
07-26-2007, 06:45 AM
http://www.californiansforobama.com/

I don't know how long this site will be up. Today it's been found to be a scam. Obama has nothing to do with this site and none of the money they've raised has gone to his campaign. They are advertising a cruise with Eartha Kitt and Maya Angelou, neither of which will be on the cruise.

The man behind it, Emmett Cash III, was a registered Republican until last month.

http://www.sfgate.com/cgi-bin/article.cgi?f=/n/a/2007/07/25/politics/p112410D95.DTL&type=politics

ECW
07-26-2007, 06:55 AM
Typical rightwing crap. I hope they bust this scammer for fraud.

ViolaLee
07-26-2007, 04:05 PM
The site's still up, so that's strange. I would think the Obama campaign could get that site taken down right away.

BoogyMan
07-26-2007, 05:01 PM
The site (www.californiansforobama.com) is apparently a GoDaddy hosted site. If it is a fraud, call them about it.

OrgName: GoDaddy.com, Inc.
OrgID: GODAD
Address: 14455 N Hayden Road
Address: Suite 226
City: Scottsdale
StateProv: AZ
PostalCode: 85260
Country: US

NetRange: 64.202.160.0 - 64.202.191.255
CIDR: 64.202.160.0/19
NetName: GO-DADDY-SOFTWARE-INC
NetHandle: NET-64-202-160-0-1
Parent: NET-64-0-0-0-0
NetType: Direct Allocation
NameServer: CNS1.SECURESERVER.NET
NameServer: CNS2.SECURESERVER.NET
NameServer: CNS3.SECURESERVER.NET
Comment:
RegDate: 2002-10-22
Updated: 2007-06-14

OrgAbuseHandle: ABUSE51-ARIN
OrgAbuseName: Abuse Department
OrgAbusePhone: +1-480-624-2505
OrgAbuseEmail: abuse@godaddy.com

OrgNOCHandle: NOC124-ARIN
OrgNOCName: Network Operations Center
OrgNOCPhone: +1-480-505-8809
OrgNOCEmail: noc@godaddy.com

OrgTechHandle: NOC124-ARIN
OrgTechName: Network Operations Center
OrgTechPhone: +1-480-505-8809
OrgTechEmail: noc@godaddy.com

# ARIN WHOIS database, last updated 2007-07-25 19:10
# Enter ? for additional hints on searching ARIN's WHOIS database.

ViolaLee
07-26-2007, 06:12 PM
Wow, you should go work for Obama!

DANG
07-26-2007, 10:12 PM
Everything is carefully worded on the website.
See the box with "Invited speakers and panelists"??
http://img78.imageshack.us/img78/9772/cruise1vl9.jpg
See that asterisk? "Due to availability"? That lets him off the hook. Since they didnt respond to his BULK MAIL post card invitation to begin with...

The he has an FEC ID # posted at the bottom of the page and the FEC has said here: Contra Costa Times (http://www.contracostatimes.com/bayandstate/ci_6461838) that these scams.... The Federal Election Commission says such independent fundraising groups have existed for decades and are legal, as long as they cannot be directly connected to campaigns or fraudulently suggest such a connection to gather donations.
I have the 1st comment on the article: The only person mentioned as a customer of the cruise; Ercell Hoffman, 65, of Compton, should sue the pants off of Mr Cash for false advertising.... thats the only illegality involved here.

Mr Emmett Cash III may even be able to beat THAT rap..... all he had to do was invite all those people to join the cruise (as paying customers, of course). That would justify the wording of the website "Invited guests".

Buyer beware!

The FEC sees no laws broken. As long as he didnt claim to give Obama any of the loot... which he didnt... he only states: "The money will be put to good use".

Its all a bit unethical, I dont see any laws broken, though.


Posted by: DANG

7/26/2007 2:33 PM