View Full Version : PeerGuardian2 blocks this forum
speedracer
03-23-2007, 06:39 PM
This is what PG2 returns when I come to this website:
Name
HopOne Internet Corporation split1
Source
myip
Destination
66.36.236.4:80
Protocol
TCP
Action
Blocked
Just thought I'd give you a heads up.
Jaaaman
03-23-2007, 06:42 PM
I wonder why peer guardian blocks this forum?
Labrocca
03-23-2007, 07:08 PM
I will look into that.
Jaaaman
03-23-2007, 07:22 PM
I will look into that.
Thanks Labrocca!
By the way, hello again! I haven't been on this site in awhile. ;)
Labrocca
03-24-2007, 01:47 AM
Hey...well I was looking into this. I really don't understand exactly the purpose of peer guardian? Is it for those that use p2p programs or for those wishing to block p2p sites? I also see no way to check if I am listed, why I am listed, or how to be removed. A rather crappy blocking system in my opinion.
Buck Laser
03-24-2007, 02:54 AM
Hey...well I was looking into this. I really don't understand exactly the purpose of peer guardian? Is it for those that use p2p programs or for those wishing to block p2p sites? I also see no way to check if I am listed, why I am listed, or how to be removed. A rather crappy blocking system in my opinion.
If it's a program that allows blocking based on key words or something, it may also have some options that allow administrators to block sites optionally. During my last working years, the university's internet connections were swamped when practically every student started using Napster, and the honchos in IT seriously considered blocking it--not because of its "illegal" nature, but because it began to hinder more legitimate uses of the bandwidth available.
I know that some CIOs spend a lot of effort trying to block people from "wasting time" on the web--maybe that's how DF got blocked.
speedracer
03-24-2007, 05:01 AM
The purpose of Peer Guardian is to block IPs that have made the offending blacklist for a variety of reasons. Sometimes it is used for P2P defense (blocking by IP fake torrents and probing by companies that do it). It's not just P2P though. The HTTP block is what I use. It typically blocks websites that host services known to have spyware or on ISPs known to allow spammers.
I've seen it before where entire ISPs domains hit the blacklist because of one bad user. This isn't necessarily something to worry about, I just thought I'd let you know.
Just to put it in perspective, CNN, parts of Google homepage, hell, most of the "big" websites on the net don't load because of it.
Labrocca
03-24-2007, 05:36 AM
I do pay attention to spam lists..especially for spam. As being my own sysadmin puts me in charge of securing my server and sites.
I am not aware of any problems on my server. Can you go to other sites on my server such as Gametour.com or TalkVideoGames.com? I wonder if it's just this site or the entire IP. It might also be my host and the entire C class could be blocked. This happens sometimes because a couple bad servers might make 5-20 IPs and get the entire C class banned. It's happened before but the NOC has been good at booting those people and keeping us off lists.
Just to put it in perspective, CNN, parts of Google homepage, hell, most of the "big" websites on the net don't load because of it.
If that's true then it's a POS software and I have to ask why you bother to use it. I can't even find on their site any way to check if or why I am blocked and how to be removed. Every blocklist worth it's salt has a way to ask for removal review.
speedracer
03-24-2007, 04:17 PM
I am not aware of any problems on my server. Can you go to other sites on my server such as Gametour.com or TalkVideoGames.com? I wonder if it's just this site or the entire IP. It might also be my host and the entire C class could be blocked. This happens sometimes because a couple bad servers might make 5-20 IPs and get the entire C class banned. It's happened before but the NOC has been good at booting those people and keeping us off lists.
Both of those websites generate the same HopOne block.
I found this on the PG website, a report from another user:
"01:14:42;Bogon;10.1.1.7:52035;66.235.181.62:13033; UDP;Blocked
Out-of-date... now belongs to... HopOne Internet Corporation - HOPO: 66.235.160.0 - 66.235.191.255
Well, I am going to cut it shorter now.... here are some others that need SERIOUS attention or your network, services and some other functions may NOT work until you fix these! You SERIOUSLY NEED to update your lists... some of these seem to be VERY, VERY old!!! Or you got a BAD list from somewhere!"
It looks like a mistake, and someone else has already complained about it. That post is from two weeks ago, but it still hasn't been changed yet... at least on the updated block list.
http://forums.phoenixlabs.org/t13491-p3-strange-activity-detected-by-pg2-can-you-interpret-.html
If that's true then it's a POS software and I have to ask why you bother to use it. I can't even find on their site any way to check if or why I am blocked and how to be removed. Every blocklist worth it's salt has a way to ask for removal review.
I use it because it's a vicious little program that when in doubt, blocks. I usually investigate every block to see whether it's valid or not. It certainly does return more false positives than I'd like... It used to be really good, but it's looking more and more like the SPEWS block-everything-that-moves debacle every day...
Labrocca
03-24-2007, 07:52 PM
Well thanks for helping to clear that up I do appreciate it.
vBulletin® v3.7.0, Copyright ©2000-2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.